The United States

New England fishing villages

New England is sometimes called the ‘cultural and historical heart’ of the United States. Its six states ― five of which are on the Atlantic seaboard ― are located in the country’s northeast. New England’s first European colonizers were 17th-century English settlers who fled across the Atlantic to escape religious persecution and start a new life. Over the centuries, fishing (including whaling) was vital to both individual and economic survival. The traditional fishing villages that dot the rocky New England coast, including Newport, Ogunquit, Kennebunk, Manset and Shelburne, are today popular touristdestinations. Boston is the region’s unofficial capital

[peinture #14000]
Newport Harbour
The United States, New England, Rhode Island, Newport
Study, gouache, on white Bristol
Credit: Frédéric Back
More Info