Tiny Switzerland boasts many cultural and architectural traditions. Divided into 26 cantons, Switzerland has four national languages: French, German, Italian and Romansch. Over time, these various cultural and linguistic influences have affected the country in many ways. In architecture, for instance, each style has regional variations, like the Alemmanic, Italian and Romanesque variants of Baroque and Renaissance architecture. This tendency is even more pronounced in Swiss residential architecture: for example, the houses of Sempach, Guarda and Sonogno are radically different. All of this gives Switzerland a mixed identity that is in direct contrast to the notion of a unified national tradition.

[peinture #18004]
Switzerland, Thun
Sketch,India ink, on Canson paper
Credit: Frédéric Back
More Info